2022 Spring International Contest on Software Testing

W. Eric Wong Vice President for Publications Chair of Technical Committee on System and Software Assurance IEEE Reliability Society

The Dallas Chapter in conjunction with the Technical Committee of *System and Software Assurance*, and the Department of Computer Science at the University of Texas at Dallas organized a very successful International Contest on Software Testing on April 30, 2022. The contest also received technical sponsorship from Mooctest, Inc.

Due to the ongoing pandemic, the event was held online via Zoom. In addition, because of the time difference the contest was only focused on students from North and South America (especially, USA and Brazil) and Asia (China and India). Over 600 contestants attended the contest from 9:00 am to 12:00 pm, USA Central Time. More details can be found at the <u>contest</u> website.



This contest aims to bring real-world testing and tool-using experience to the participants and provide them with excellent opportunities to overcome industry testing challenges with their learned testing techniques.

The total budget for this event is over \$3,000 USD with 99% used as cash prizes for the winners of this contest. Members of the organizing committee are volunteers without any financial compensation. All the expenses were covered by donations from the local industry in the DFW metropolitan area, especially Mooctest, Inc -- an industry member of the *Advanced Research Center for Software Testing and Quality Assurance* (STQA at UTD) that is also part of an US NSF-sponsored I/UCRC (Industry/University Cooperative Research Center).

We would like to give special acknowledgements to the *Center for Computer Science Education and Outreach* at UT Dallas and Mooctest, Inc for their logistical and financial support. We also give our thanks to Professor Zhenyu Chen (Software Institute, Nanjing University), Mr. Yuan Zhao (Mooctest, Inc.), as well as Dr. Veerasamy Jeyakesavan, Mr. Dongcheng Li, Mr. Shou-Yu Lee, and Mr. Zizhao Chen (all from the Computer Science Department at UT Dallas) for their efforts to make this contest very successful.